loverstar.blogg.se

Partition a mac for linux
Partition a mac for linux













partition a mac for linux

Click on “Restore” and then “Restore” (I wish I had better notes on this because this doesn’t seem specific enough.

#PARTITION A MAC FOR LINUX INSTALL#

Step 3 – Setup the Snow Leopard Install (optional if you have an install DVD)

  • Click “Apply” and then “Partition” to format.
  • The fourth partition is a place holder that the Ubuntu install will format:
  • Size: 100 GB (all user/personal files will go here, so entirely up to you).
  • Format: “Mac OS Extended” (not journaled because Linux is going to be reading this).
  • Rename to “Data” (you may use any name).
  • The third partition is the shared data partition:
  • Size: 80 GB (minimum is probably around 20 GB, you may want larger to accommodate /Applications).
  • The second partition is the bootable Snow Leopard OS:
  • Rename to “Install” (you may use any name).
  • The first partition is going to hold the Snow Leopard install (this is not a bootable Snow Leopard OS):
  • Click “Options…” and make sure “GUID Partition Table” is selected.
  • Select “Volume Scheme” > “4 partitions”.
  • Open Application > Utilities > Disk Utility.
  • This step will completely erase the USB drive and any data on it. If you have a Snow Leopard DVD, the first partition I make below is not necessary. I then use that partition to install the Snow Leopard OS on another partition, which will be my OS bootable partition. As part of this process, I create a partition on the external USB for the Snow Leopard install.

    partition a mac for linux

    The external USB is 400 GB (this could be far less). I’m running a MacBook Pro with 10.5 as the local machine. Afterwards, I could boot from the external USB drive, which was a bit slow but definitely useable. I never modified my primary internal hard drive in this process. I did this as an experiment, so I set up the dual boot on an external USB drive. Set up a hard drive that is bootable to either OS X 10.6 or Ubuntu, but with a shared user partition so that user data is accessible regardless of which operating system is booted into.















    Partition a mac for linux